Best smart home upgrades for parents

 smart-parents

With 3 active school age children, a busy spouse, and a puppy I need products that will streamline my life while adding value to my home.

I love new technology as much as the next person.  The newly launched products at the 2017 Consumer Electronics Show sound really exciting.  However, sometimes I worry that all of these smart home upgrades won’t make my life easier…just more complicated.

With 3 active school age children, a busy spouse, and a puppy I need products that will streamline my life while adding value to my home.

Here are a few of the most recent Smart Home upgrades that will lend a helping hand to all of the busy parents out there:

Smart Appliances:

41ccl94pbql-_ql70_I am not going to lie… I have a major crush on this Whirlpool washer/dryer.  With a family of 5, I literally do laundry every single day.  There have been so many times that I forget to transfer the clothes to the dryer and they sit overnight.  Then I have to wash them again.  This handsome machine is a washer AND a dryer all in one!  No more transferring loads or re-washing clothes.  Bonus, it’s WiFi enabled so it can keep you updated by phone.

 

samsung-family-hub-2-1The Samsung Family Hub 2.0 is probably my favorite smart home upgrade on this list.  I can’t tell you how many times my husband calls me from the grocery store asking me to check the fridge to see if we are out of something.  List making is not a high priority in our house.  Amongst the many functions, this refrigerator has internal view inside cameras.  That means that it will take pictures of the inside of the fridge and you can view them on your smart phone!  Now you don’t have to wonder if you are out of eggs!  Bonus, you can keep a running shopping list digitally throughout the week of items that you run out of.  Then you can access that list at the grocery store!

Smart Temperature Control

nest_thermostat_insteon-800x420As my father always complained…”why am I paying good money to heat an empty house?”

The Nest learns your daily activities and adjusts the temperature accordingly, saving you up to 20% on your heating and cooling bills.  What does that mean?  Well, the Nest learns that I get up at 6:30 and turn the heat up from 66 to 70.  It learns that turn the heat off at 8:10 when I leave to take the kids to school.  It learns that I turn the heat back up around 5pm and when I lower the heat back down again for bed time.  The Nest can save you money too!  Nest estimated the thermostat saved an average of $131 to $145 a year, which means the product paid for itself in less than two years!  Bonus, you can also adjust the settings remotely from your smart phone so that you can arrive to a nice a toasty house after a long day at work!

Smart Security

smarthomeweek1My husband and I joke that we should plant cacti under our son’s window to keep them safe.  But security for your home when you have little ones is no laughing matter.  I want to rest soundly knowing that the most important people in my life are safe and sound.

This is the ISmartAlarm.   This easy-to-install wireless DIY system is great for apartments or small homes. The iSmartAlarm system is as expandable as you want it to be.  You can add door and window motion sensors, smart switches, and iCamera and iCamera KEEP models with streaming video and video storage. Bonus, this system has no monthly fees and no contracts.

The bottom line?  I am a busy mom and I will take whatever help I can get!  If I can get an appliance or Smart Home technology that will give me extra time to hang out with my kids or let me sleep with peace of mind… sign me up!


Premier Real Estate

Click here to see beautiful properties and be Social with us @CBPremierOnline

www.cbpremieronline.com

Related Articles:

prof

1     2     4     3     Untitled design     5     7


Leave a Reply

